I love the message of this book. From an adult's perspective, the townspeople's wishy-washiness annoys me, although perhaps it's a reflection of real life. First they rush to fire the song-loving mayor. Then they jump on Rooster's bandwagon to boot out the song-hating mayor. But I doubt most young kids will notice or care. This modern fable would make a fun read-aloud for the K-3 crowd, rousing everyone to sing, "Kee-kee-ree-KEE" as one. Read-alike: The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf.

JCLBeckyC's rating:
[]
[]
To Top