A Tale of Magic

A Tale of Magic

Book - 2019 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
20
9
5
 …
Fourteen-year-old Brystal Evergreen risks everything by opposing her kingdom's repression of women, but Madame Weatherberry, seeing her potential, invites her to a school where she hopes to change the world's perception of magic.
Publisher: New York ; Boston : Little, Brown and Company, 2019
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780316523479
031652347X
9780316523516
Branch Call Number: J FIC FAN
Characteristics: 481 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Dorman, Brandon

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Quotes

Add a Quote
v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 29, 2020

Part Two "So let's honor the people who gave their lives for this moment to happen - let's cherish their memory by living each and every day as freely, as proudly, and as joyfully as they would have wanted us to. Together, let's begin a new chapter for our community, so when they tell our story years in the future, the tale of magic has a happy and prosperous ending." - Brystal

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 29, 2020

Part One: "Hello, everyone. I can only imagine what you've all been though to get here - both in life and on the road. This historic day is possible thanks to a long history of brave men and women making tremendous sacrifices. And although the fight for acceptance and freedom may seem like it's over, our work isn't finished. The world will never be a better place for us until we make it a better place for all. And no matter what challenges await us, no matter who favor we've yet to earn, we cannot allow anyone's hate to rob us of our compassion or dampen our ambition along the way. The truth is, there will always be a fight, there will always be bridges to cross and stones to turn, but we must never forfeit our joy to the times we live in. When we surrender our ability to be happy, we become as flawed as the battles we face. And too many lives have already been lost for us to lose sight of what we're fighting now."

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 29, 2020

"Listen carefully, Brystal, because this is the most important lesson I will ever teach you. Don't make the same mistakes I made. No matter how cruel or unfair the world becomes, never forfeit your happiness. And no matter how poorly someone treats you, never let anyone's hate rob you of compassion. The battle of good and evil isn't fought on a battlefield - it begins inn each and every one of us. Don't let your anger choose sides for you." - Madame Weatherberry

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 29, 2020

""Wait, do we think there are bears in there?" Xanthous asked.
"Probably," Lucy said. "I doubt Black Bear Cave got its name for housing flamingos."" - A Tale of Magic . . .

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 11, 2020

""Skylene, how much Simple Slumber Sleeping Salt did you put in the stew?" she asked.
"I just followed the instructions on the back," Skylene said, and removed the bottle of Simple Slumber Sleeping Salt from her pocket. "The directions say and inch of salt will put someone to sleep for a week."
Tangerina snatched the bottle from her friend and took a look for herself. As she inspected it, something didn't seem right, and she wiped the bottle with a napkin.
"Skylene!" Tangerina exclaimed. "The instructions say a pinch of salt will put someone to sleep for a week - not and inch!"
Skylene went pale and her eyes grow wide.
"Oops," she said.
"Oh my God, we just killed Mrs. Vee!" Xanthous cried." - A Tale of Magic . . .

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 11, 2020

"Because if we want a better world, we have to be better than the world." - Madame Weatherberry

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 11, 2020

"I'm calling it Madame Weatherberry's Academy of Magical Endeavors and Philosophy, but don't get attached to the name, it's still a work in progress." - Madame Weatherberry

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 06, 2020

"And what are we supposes to call you? Besides 'the six bossiest children on the planet'?" - Mounteclair

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 06, 2020

""Lucy, although all evidence pointed to you being a witch, I'm sorry for making you feel like one,' she said. "I hope you'll forgive me, and I'll try my best to make you feel welcome at this academy."
"That was very nice, Tangerina," Brystal said. "Lucy? Is there something you would kike to say to Tangerina?"
"Sure is," Lucy said. "For someone with so much honey, you sure spread a lot of vinegar!" - A Tale of Magic...

v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 05, 2020

""Yes, but both have been considered sinful since the beginning of time," Champion went on. "Do you know how difficult it is to redefine something for society? It took me decades to convince my kingdom that potatoes aren't poisonous-and people still avoid them in the markets!"
Madame Weatherberry shook her head in disbelief. "Are you comparing an innocent race of people to witchcraft, sir?"" - A Tale of Magic...

View All Quotes

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Apr 01, 2021

A Tale of Magic is a part of the Land of Stories series. I think it could be read as a standalone book, but I found it even more engaging after reading the series. This book dives into the past and explores magic before modern day time. It talks about discrimination in a way that I feel references modern day prejudices. I would give this book 5 stars (six if I could!). It hooks you in, and the plot is mysterious and interesting. If you have already read the Land Of Stories series, you will recognize characters, which is really fun to discover as you go along. This fantasy book is wonderful for fans of the Land of Stories series and reminds me of the Harry Potter series and the Nevermoor series, similar in terms of magic, magical prejudice, and magical education. This book has lots of emotion and tightly wound suspense, which I feel makes this a perfect book for all ages. I think part of the message is that you shouldn’t judge people by their appearances and how they identify themselves. Also that people can surprise you, and someone may seem a certain way, but they could be going through more than you realize.
@honeybunny of the Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

k
kksze1984
Dec 08, 2020

borrow at about 9

r
red_butterfly_4693
Dec 05, 2020

As I read the first half of the book I was skeptical. I wasn't sure if this book would meet the high standards that Mr. Colfer had set with other outstanding books. To be frank at first it didn't. I did not care for the rather dark beginning to A Tale Of Magic. As an avid fan of Mr. Colfer's Land of Stories series I was disappointed by the seemingly enchanting new book series. But I will admit the pull to find out the ending was what kept me reading. Mr. Colfer managed to make his book unique, even though it was about a school of magic. Which is hard to do considering Ms. Rowling set the bar so high with her Harry Potter series. However as the story progressed and I got past the dark beginning I did learn to enjoy it. Especially as the characters developed. This series may be off to a rocky start. But I have high hopes, now that the plot is developed, that it will turn out just as great as the Land of Stories.

k
KOTLCfan
Sep 04, 2020

I love how Chris Colfer did a series about Alex and Connor's grandmother! It's really interesting, and I already have a hold on the second book. I can't wait for "A Tale of Witchcraft"!
Also, I love the twist with Madame Celeste Weatherberry!

a
Athira09
Aug 24, 2020

Brystal Evergreen is the Fairy Godmother is what I think.

b
black_flamingo_106
Aug 09, 2020

Basically a backstories of the members of fairy council and many others.

a
AnneHarding
May 04, 2020

Because she is a girl, Brystal is not allowed to read, get an education or even question her father. However, when she finds a room full books about history and magic, she realises all is not what it seems, in her kingdom.
A great story for girl power!

IndyPL_JessicaNS Apr 07, 2020

If your kid likes books that feature some pretty heavy-handed morals, then this is the book for them. The story was interesting, but I thought the book read more like propaganda than a nice story about children who discover that they are magic.

This book does have some lovely affirmations--that you can choose your family, that you should be accepted exactly for who you are, and that our differences are what make us magic.

As a fan of Colfer's first series, The Land of Stories, I have high hopes that this series will improve as the books are released!

OPL_KrisC Oct 17, 2019

A fantastic start to new series by Chris Colfer, author of "The Land of Stories" series. Full of magic and excitement, this book is just as good as the books from the first series. For fans of Brandon Mull & Lisa McMann.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
r
red_butterfly_4693
Dec 05, 2020

red_butterfly_4693 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

r
richiekong
Jun 12, 2020

richiekong thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

m
mauve_snipe_10
Apr 15, 2020

mauve_snipe_10 thinks this title is suitable for 99 years and over

b
black_cat_2717
Oct 21, 2019

black_cat_2717 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

OPL_KrisC Oct 17, 2019

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
m
Mayster14
Jul 15, 2020

Brystal Evergreen isn’t allowed to read or write, simply because she’s a girl. She can’t get a meaningful education either. She must learn how to cook and clean and manage children. Her father, a High Justice official, holds great respect over the Southern Kingdom. Brystal is sick of not being able to read and volunteers to be a maid at a library. As she cleans, she finds a mysterious room. She enters it and her life is changed forever...
A Tale of Magic is an amazing story that incorporates themes of thinking for yourself, leadership, and kindness. The defeat of the villain in the end is a little graphic, but nothing worse than Chris Colfer’s other series, The Land of Stories. As a lover of The Land of Stories, I highly recommend A Tale of Magic.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top