Long Way Back

Long Way Back

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
On February 16 2016, motorcycle adventurer Charley Boorman suffered a major road traffic accident in Portugal. Having spent the better part of his life on some form of motorbike, his world came crashing down after he was knocked off a Triumph Tiger Explorer, smashing his right ankle and causing severe damage to his left fibia and tibia. It was unclear if he would ever walk properly again, let alone ride a motorbike.Moving between past and present, Long Way Back recounts Charley's journey back of recovery, the ambulance ride, the numerous operations in a Portuguese hospital, the medivac aircraft flight back to London. In alternating chapters, as his inability to walk for several months provokes introspection, Boorman recounts his childhood, where his passion formotorbikes began, and the formative influences in his life - from his father, a touring film director, to his long-time friend Ewan McGregor, and Sean Connery's son Jason, who first introduced him to bikes. As Charley struggles to cope with this potentially life-changing situation, it is these touchstones who will give him strength on the long way back to health.
Publisher: Basingstoke, Hampshire : Automobile Association Publishing, 2017
ISBN: 9780749577018
0749577010
9780749578503
0749578505
9780749579258
Branch Call Number: 796.75 B72L
Characteristics: 319 pages , 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, portraits (some color) ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Gulvin, Jeff 1962-
McGregor, Ewan 1971-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
v
voltaire10
Dec 27, 2017

After a motorcycle accident in Portugal, Charley Boorman of Long Way Round fame is left to ponder his past and face his most difficult challenge yet. His journey to recover from his serious leg injury has him reflecting on such subjects as his appearances in his famous director-dad's films, the death of his sister and his many motorcycle adventures around the world. This is mainly a book for fans of Long Way Round, Long Way Down and his other motorcycle adventure TV series and those wanting to get to know, in more detail, what makes him do what he does.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number
  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top