WONDERS OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD

WONDERS OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
For fans of Patrick Ness and Tom McNeal comes a page-turning novel that's part ghost story, part love story.

Aidan Lockwood lives in a sleepy farming community known for its cattle ranches and not much else. That is, until Jarrod, a friend he hasn't seen in years, moves back to town. It's Jarrod who opens Aidan's eyes to events he's long since forgotten, and who awakes in him feelings that go beyond mere friendship. But as Aidan's memories return, so do some unsettling truths about his family. As Aidan begins to probe into long-buried secrets, the lines between the past and the present, tales and truths, friends and lovers begin to blur, and Aidan will need to confront a family curse before he can lay claim to his life once more.

"Brilliant storytelling that unearths new intersections of love and magic." --Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of Zeroes

"The unpredictability of curses, magic, and love are inexorably entwined in this gracefully written story." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A captivating exploration of the power of place, family, memory, and time itself."
-- Kirkus Reviews

"Barzak expertly balances magical realism, historical flashbacks, and
contemporary teen romance in Aidan's journey of self-discovery." -- Booklist
Publisher: Random House Children's Books 2016
ISBN: 9780385392822
Branch Call Number: REPL

Opinion

From Library Staff

What happens when your family is cursed, Death is stalking you, and the only thing that can save you has to be kept a secret? When Jarrod comes back into his life, Aiden must expose his family’s lies by travelling into other worlds so that he can save himself, his family, and the boy he loves.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
maroon_chicken
Feb 12, 2016

There was a lot going on in this book. According to the Library of Congress, this book is about "psychic ability, the supernatural, blessing and cursing, death, gays, farm life, and Ohio." While reading this book, I sometimes felt like I was reading Holes, which had a similar plot based on old family curses. I was somewhat disappointed by this book. The characters felt flat, especially the brother Toby, who is either asleep or confused throughout almost all of this book. The magic in this book felt unsatisfying to me, and the main character has so many magical dreams/visions/immersive hallucinations that it made me sleepy.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top