The Grouchy Historian

The Grouchy Historian

An Old-time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
In the tradition of Michael Moore, Ed Asner--a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show --reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama's death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There's no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn't agree on what it meant. What was the president's job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It's about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2017
Edition: First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781501166020
1501166026
Branch Call Number: 342.73 A83g
Characteristics: viii, 336 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Weinberger, Ed

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mammothhawk229e
Mar 08, 2018

Contrarian author countered the right wing establishment by explaining who the constitutional delegates (hint: white financial elites; no women, native Americans, slaves, minorities, war veterans & small businessmen) in occupation, what assets (land ,money and/or slaves) they have & what happened to them afterwards, take jabs on the political right politicians & fear mongering talking heads, what's the Bill of rights, dubious examples of the Bill of right in practice, & the full interpretation of the second amendment (founders scared of armed Whiskey revolt).
Loved the chapter on heckling the right wing's top ten talking points by his ten comebacks using constitutional delegate's own quotes to undercut conservative opposition.
He used empathy, humor, facts, & huge bibliography for anybody with a public education could look up online or on the book shelves to make up their own minds.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top