Pachinko

Pachinko

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
27
1
In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
Publisher: New York, NY : Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Book Group, 2017
Edition: First Edition
ISBN: 9781455563937
1455563935
Branch Call Number: FIC
Characteristics: 490 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

This fascinating study of Korean family life during the Japanese occupation will appeal to fans of family sagas and historical fiction.

This wonderful, multi-generational novel follows the fortunes of a Korean family over three generations. This saga begins in Korea and then crosses over to Japan. Sunja, is an only child who falls in love with a Korean mobster and becomes pregnant. A Japanese minister recuperating at Sunja’s mot... Read More »

This fascinating study of Korean family life during the Japanese occupation, may appeal to readers who enjoy family sagas set against a broad historical backdrop.

If you enjoy historical fiction with an international worldview, This novel of a young Korean girl during the Japanese occupation of her homeland is highly recommended.

Lee’s wonderful sophomore novel sprawls over seven decades and three generations of a Korean family living under Japanese rule who relocate to Osaka, Japan.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
darladoodles
Aug 10, 2018

The story begins in the early 20th century in South Korea with a young man who is crippled by a club foot and has a cleft palate. He wins a wife and they are able to have one daughter (Sunjan). That daughter is his treasure and he teaches her about unconditional love. That love is passed on through the generations despite hardship and tragedy. The story ends in 1989, but we can see that the love and faith of Sunjan endures.

DCLadults Aug 09, 2018

Historical Fiction at it's best! Beautiful writing, fully developed characters and interesting places. A great book group selection! A National Book Award Finalist. A TV series is in development at Apple.

ArapahoeKati Aug 01, 2018

Lush, evocative, beautiful. The kind of book you want to savor. I spent a month reading this because I didn't want it to end. A read-alike for "Memoirs of a Geisha" or if you love family sagas with great attention to historical detail.

w
WoodneathSheri
Jul 25, 2018

I know very little about Korean history and I think that made this book an educational, as well as an entertaining read. Of course I’m aware that women have been treated very badly in most countries and throughout most time periods, but every time I read another historical fiction novel it really comes to life for me. This one is beautifully written and even though it’s a long book the story flowed quickly. It’s the story of a Korean family who is moved to Japan due to circumstances beyond their control. I think this is one of the references to the game of Pachinko, which is a game of luck, but we learn in the book that sometimes the owners of Pachinko parlors rig the game. The story immersed me in the characters so much that I felt like the family could have been real! I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more by this author.

somanybooksHPL Jul 05, 2018

A long book, that is a quick read as it is seamlessly written. A story that could be about almost any immigrant experience. Historical, current, love, drama, mystery all wrapped into one.

k
kwsmith
May 27, 2018

This sweeping character drama is set in Korea and Japan between 1910 and 1990. During this time, Japan had colonized Korea and the Koreans living in Japan were often treated as lower class humans. The suffering, perseverance, and ultimate success of stoic Korean women is a central theme in this book. Richly detailed characterization dramatically brings this fascinating chapter of East Asian history to life.

r
ryanosu
May 25, 2018

2017 National Book Award

lindab1111 May 03, 2018

It felt like I have read this book before. Different country, different names but the same basic story of families being forced to flee villages, women's plight of trying to find love with a man who has money, and so on. Perhaps I'm thinking of Lisa See or Amy Tan. Anyway, I stayed with it till the end.

j
jr3083
May 02, 2018

I really enjoyed this book. It’s long, and not for nothing does Lee cite Dickens in her epigram to Part 1 of the book (“Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit answered to, in strongest conjuration”). The book evoked Dickens in its sweep and length, and I found it entirely engrossing, luxuriating in a whole Easter Sunday to sit and finish it in one big gulp.

Read my complete review at:
https://residentjudge.wordpress.com/2018/05/02/pachinko-by-min-jin-lee/

ArapahoeJulia Apr 13, 2018

This book was incredible, I loved reading it. The author gave every character a voice, you even got perspectives from characters that didn't end up being main players, which gave the reader a more well rounded story.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices

t
Tjad2L
Aug 23, 2017

Sexual Content: explicit sexual content

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top