Mission Flats

Mission Flats

eBook - 2003
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense--perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane.

"Landay writes with eloquent intensity."-- The New York Times Book Review

By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city's toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police--especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man--or let a guilty one go free--one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.

Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob

"A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?"-- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"[Landay's] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment."-- Rocky Mountain News

"Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it."--Lee Child

Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, 2003
ISBN: 9780440334552
0440334551
Characteristics: 1 online resource (369 p.)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
chgarland
Sep 08, 2013

Not bad at all. The writing was above average but not at all pointlessly fluffy with strained efforts to be pretty or poetic.

The plot was pretty good with plenty of likely suspects. I'm not sure if I figured it out earlier than the author thought I would, but after one particular scene it seemed pretty obvious to me whodunit since we were out of possibilities by then. Once I figured out the mystery, it seemed like the book took too long to get to the denouement, but, on the other hand, if you didn't figure out the answer, it was probably just right.

m
mythoughts
Oct 31, 2012

A real page-turner and a great read. I'm happy to have discovered this author.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at VPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top