After the Storm

After the Storm

The American Exile of Béla Bartók

DVD - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The great Hungarian composer Béla Bartók spent the last five years of his life as a man without a country, a refugee from war-torn Europe. He spent these years, 1940-45, in the United States, where few people understood the greatness of his genius. This film tells the story of these years. Includes excerpts from Bartók's music performed by György Sándor, piano, László Bársony, viola, the Budapest Symphony Orchestra conducted by Ervin Lukács, Sir Georg Solti, and the Chicago Symphony conducted by Sir Georg Solti.
Publisher: West Long Branch, N.J. : Kultur, [2008]
ISBN: 9780769787565
Branch Call Number: 780.8 B29st
Language Note: In English with some Hungarian dubbed in English
Characteristics: 1 videodisc (76 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Sep 20, 2018

This was a terrific film about the final years and compositions of the great ethno-musicologist and composer Bartok. Archival photos, interviews with his family, friends, and colleagues make it informative and interesting, giving an impression of the character of the man and the value and nature of his last compositions.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at VPL

To Top