[]
[]

Wool Omnibus

Howey, Hugh (Book - 2012)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Wool Omnibus
 Add a Comment  Add Tags

Print

Item Details

This Omnibus Edition collects the five Wool books into a single volume.The first Wool story was released as a standalone short in July of 2011. Due to reviewer demand, the rest of the story was released over the next six months. My thanks go out to those reviewers who clamored for more. Without you, none of this would exist. Your demand created this as much as I did.This is the story of mankind clawing for survival, of mankind on the edge. The world outside has grown unkind, the view of it limited, talk of it forbidden. But there are always those who hope, who dream. These are the dangerous people, the residents who infect others with their optimism. Their punishment is simple. They are given the very thing they profess to want: They are allowed outside.
Authors: Howey, Hugh
Title: Wool omnibus
Publisher: [United States : H. Howey], c2012
Characteristics: 539 p. ; 23 cm
Notes: "This work contains material previously published as Wool, Wool 2, Wool 3, Wool 4, and Wool 5"--T.p. verso
Awards & Distinctions: Science Fiction, New, 2012_06
Local Note: 20120605 ba
ISBN: 9781469984209
1469984202
Branch Call Number: FIC SF
Statement of Responsibility: by Hugh Howey
Subject Headings: Underground areas Fiction Civilization, Subterranean Fiction
Genre/Form: Science fiction
Dystopias
Topical Term: Underground areas
Civilization, Subterranean
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

A series of science fiction novellas, combined in one edition. The narrative concerns a dystopian world and the struggle for survival around three central characters and the secret to the Silo. Chosen as a readalike to Cronin's The Passage.

Comment by: wwgg Nov 25, 2012

Then read:

Second Shift - (Part 7 of the Silo Series) (Wool)


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 15, 2014
  • llongpine rated this: 1 stars out of 5.

I really wanted to like this book. I usually like dystopian society genres but this was very tedious and slow. I got to page 67 and realized "I'm only this far?!" It felt like I should have been a lot further in the story. Couldn't finish it.

Mar 01, 2014
  • waltzingechidna rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

So well-written. Very, very difficult to put down--and then very difficult to pick up again sometimes, because the situations are so tense, I'd get anxious about what was going to happen next! Nonetheless I tore through this. Can't say too much without spoiling it. Finely crafted, both very plot-driven and with intriguing characters who have more complexity to them than at first meets the eye. Read this!

I took this book on vacation with me and could not put it down. I felt very invested in the central character and hope that any additions to this series will be equally as good.

Oct 02, 2013
  • danielestes rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This one was over-hyped for me. Hugh Howley is a fine writer and Wool is a fine dystopian novel with a good balance of worldbuilding intrigue and urgency, but I didn't experience anything extraordinary like what the other readers are gushing about. Maybe it's Howley's rise from regular-guy-who-dreams-of-being-a-writer to bestselling award winner via self-publishing that propelled the Legend of Wool. I do intend to read the next two books of the series because I want to see how it all turns out. And I would love to see Wool: The Movie if it ever makes it to the big screen. There are plenty of dusty visuals here that would look fantastic in IMAX.

Sep 05, 2013
  • leslieacase rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

excellent read. quick read- would like to read prequel-sequel of this story line.

Jul 14, 2013
  • aliciamarie rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

The overall story is interesting and kept me guessing until the end. I found the author to be VERY descriptive though and found myself skimming over multiple paragraphs to get back to the jest of the story. Just too much info about what the character was thinking and feeling. It distracted from the story. The ending is a whole different story...don't even get me started!

Jun 19, 2013
  • mgaffney rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Fantastic post apocalyptic story. The different sections (originally published as a serial) really add to the excitement of each.
I was a bit disappointed with the end however.

May 17, 2013
  • walkermom rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Wow. I let this book sit unread for a couple days, couldn't remember why I checked it out. Finally started reading it when I ran out of other options, but then I could not put it down. I keep telling everyone I know to go get this book and read it!
I like that it has several levels (no pun intended). You can read it as an adventure in a dytopian future, or you can ponder the very deep and dark psycological and sociological quandries the residents of the silo must face.
Really, truly a must-read.

Apr 19, 2013
  • TheSponge rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Wow. I could not put this book down. "Wool" has made it onto my Top 10 list for 2013 (so far) which is no easy feat. I found myself reading on long into the night well after I normally turn in for bed. And I am a very busy person with things to do! Not normally a fan of science fiction or dystopias, I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this volume. If you give the Omnibus edition a chance, you will see what I mean.

Mar 12, 2013
  • JCLJaredH rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Having never really been a fan of post apocalyptic stories, the Wool Omibus nevertheless drew me right in. For me, it is more than a science fiction story or a dystopian novel. It is a story of people trying to figure what their lives mean and what answers they can find. One of my favorite stories of 2012.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Mar 01, 2014
  • waltzingechidna rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

waltzingechidna thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

May 17, 2013
  • walkermom rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

walkermom thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

Mar 12, 2013
  • JCLJaredH rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Wool Book Trailer

Find it at VPL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app02 Version Borgsjo Last updated 2014/10/29 13:43