Wool Omnibus

Howey, Hugh

Book - 2012
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Wool Omnibus
Print
This Omnibus Edition collects the five Wool books into a single volume.The first Wool story was released as a standalone short in July of 2011. Due to reviewer demand, the rest of the story was released over the next six months. My thanks go out to those reviewers who clamored for more. Without you, none of this would exist. Your demand created this as much as I did.This is the story of mankind clawing for survival, of mankind on the edge. The world outside has grown unkind, the view of it limited, talk of it forbidden. But there are always those who hope, who dream. These are the dangerous people, the residents who infect others with their optimism. Their punishment is simple. They are given the very thing they profess to want: They are allowed outside.

Publisher: [United States : H. Howey], c2012
ISBN: 9781469984209
1469984202
Branch Call Number: FIC SF
Characteristics: 539 p. ; 23 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

A series of science fiction novellas, combined in one edition. The narrative concerns a dystopian world and the struggle for survival around three central characters and the secret to the Silo. Chosen as a readalike to Cronin's The Passage.

Comment by: wwgg Nov 25, 2012

Then read:

Second Shift - (Part 7 of the Silo Series) (Wool)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mar 01, 2015
  • athompson10 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Interesting premise and a very claustrophobic read - at its best, you feel like you're in the silo too. I find it a bit annoying how information about the silo and its history was eked out in little bits as the characters figured out what was going on, while we the readers were miles ahead of them. For such a suspenseful read, there were also long passages where I found it easy to put this book down (for a couple of days, even), which never happens when I'm reading a truly compulsive thriller. Still, it was extremely imaginative and when there WAS action, it was well done.

Feb 13, 2015
  • InvernessS rated this: 1.5 stars out of 5.

I wanted to like this read...did not.

Dec 22, 2014
  • stewstealth rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

A good dystopian novel. Characterizations are mostly well done and the narrative is fairly unique. The prose is done well. Recommended for anyone interested.

Jul 15, 2014
  • llongpine rated this: 1 stars out of 5.

I really wanted to like this book. I usually like dystopian society genres but this was very tedious and slow. I got to page 67 and realized "I'm only this far?!" It felt like I should have been a lot further in the story. Couldn't finish it.

Jun 25, 2014
  • OneRepublicFan rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I think one of the main reasons I liked this book was because of his writing style and how he set up the characters, I found it very intriguing. How he really took you into their lives, instead of making it one of the cliche living in confinement stories. Near the end I found myself rushing a bit, maybe because it was so long or just I had to find out what was going to happen. It's a very good read you won't be disappointed.

Apr 30, 2014

I loved the Wool trilogy that was recommened to me by a friend. It's a page turner and made me believe in the world that Hugh Howey described. I was very glad the library had these books for me to read. Also I just heard a movie is being made of Wool and the casting starts this year with the movie out in 2015. I can't wait!

Mar 06, 2014
  • nkraft rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I really enjoyed this book. I tore through the first few chapters, then slowed down a bit after several abrupt... endings... if you will. That said, it finished wonderfully. Howey's style is great, and I look forward to reading the follow-up books in the trilogy and future works. FYI: to those looking for Dust, PPL now has a single copy on the shelves, and you can find it by searching by Author: Hugh Howey.

Mar 01, 2014
  • waltzingechidna rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

So well-written. Very, very difficult to put down--and then very difficult to pick up again sometimes, because the situations are so tense, I'd get anxious about what was going to happen next! Nonetheless I tore through this. Can't say too much without spoiling it. Finely crafted, both very plot-driven and with intriguing characters who have more complexity to them than at first meets the eye. Read this!

Jan 24, 2014

Why can't I find the third of the trilogy here (Dust)? Can you please order it? It appears I'm not the only one looking for it.

Thanks.

Jan 24, 2014

I too am disappointed that the Library does not have the third book of the trilogy (Dust) in its collection..

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

Jun 11, 2014

lovebookstoo thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 60 and 21

Mar 01, 2014
  • waltzingechidna rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

waltzingechidna thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

May 17, 2013
  • walkermom rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

walkermom thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Feb 27, 2013

dymond_c thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at VPL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...
[]
[]